Does this mean I can’t buy the cute pair?

shoes

I adore running shoes. They are fun colors, super comfortable, you can customize them, and you can even get laces that are bright or patterned! It makes my day when I get the perfect running outfit together that matches my running shoes perfectly.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but truth be told…you can’t always get the cute pair. (There! I said it! Please don’t tar and feather me until you hear me out!)

If you are running just for fun and not doing much of it, then I say go for the cute comfortable pair. However, if you’re like me and you’re training for a half-marathon in the winter, you’re going to need some top of the lines, good support, water-proof, fitted with good traction kind of shoes. And those aren’t always pretty.

If you are training for a marathon, half-marathon, or you just like running a lot, I would suggest going to a specialty shoe store where they will get you fitted with the right brand of shoe. That’s what I did. They watched me as I walked to see if I needed extra support, they asked what conditions I would be running in, and then they helped me fit them just right, even showing me the different ways to tie my laces. And in the end I got the best pair for me (and just between us, they are purple and bright green! Super cute!)

So if you are looking for a good pair of shoes just to keep yourself in shape, I say go for it girl! Rock those bright pink and orange Nikes! And for those of us who need a more substantial shoe for training, go to the experts for help and fear not: cuteness can come in the higher quality shoes too 🙂

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

