My arms look great! Whoops…I forgot I had legs too…

Ok, be honest, how many of us have been there: we want our arms to look fantastic so we do ten arm workouts in a row until lifting the cereal box in the morning becomes a struggle. And then the next morning, right when you are about to start pumping those ten-pounders, you look down and see you legs are looking a little droopier than they were a month ago…

I love working out my arms. I feel like the arms are one of those areas of the body that you can really see the difference, and very soon after you start working out! However (again, I hate to be the Debbie Downer here!), you need to vary your routine for a few reasons.

#1 It’s safer. I’ve learned from experience (and my brother who is a health nut) that working out one part of the body day after day isn’t safe. You wear yourself out and you don’t give those certain muscle groups a chance to rest and rebuild before you go right back at it. So differing your workouts is better for your body and by the time you get back to your arms a few days later they have rested enough that they are ready to take on those few more pounds.

#2 Honestly, it looks weird. Ok, being totally honest here (and maybe this is just my opinion), but I have a feeling we have all been there where we see someone and we say, “Wow! Their abs and legs look great! But, man, their arms and back are a little small and sad…” Is this a problem on our side and should we be less judgmental? Probably, yes. But to be real, if you want to live a healthy lifestyle you can’t just focus on the things that people see (like the arms). You need to differ what you work on so that your whole body will be in good shape and you will feel good about your whole self, not just one aspect of it.

#3 It’s fun! I get bored so easily….SO easily….very…very…easily. So for me it’s a no brainer to change up your routine. Not only do you cover my first two points, but you get a chance to try different workouts and find which certain workouts, sites, and trainers you like better. After trying different workouts, I have pinned on Pinterest my favorite arm, leg, ab, and back/shoulder workouts. They are all from different pages and people but for me that miss-mash works best for me.

So, all this to say. For your well being, your self-esteem, and your boredom, differentiate your workouts and you will be a much happier person. πŸ™‚

-Sarah

P.S. As a side note, there are some workouts that get your cardio in there as well as weight lifting. My favorite is the Spartacus workout on youtube. It’s about 45 minutes long, but that’s including all three circuits so you could cut it down to one or two. So if you’re not in the mood to work out just one area of your body, try that!

2 thoughts on “My arms look great! Whoops…I forgot I had legs too…

Leave a Reply

