Fitness Goals Aren’t Everything.

the+scale+doesn't+define+you

Trying to be healthy is often likened to a battle. And it’s true that there are opposing forces—laziness and exercise. But I agree that it is a battle of sorts to live a healthy life, and at some points it’ll feel like you’re losing, but you need to remember you’re still fighting. You’re still trying to accomplish something.

Making goals can be useful. You can keep yourself motivated and have something clear to strive for. It gives you an edge, a focus. But don’t make yourself a slave to your goals.

I did that, and hurt myself. My goal was to “get skinny.” Whatever the cost, I would fit a small at Ambercrombie & Fitch when I was an x-large at Old Navy. I exercised like crazy, barely ate, and berated myself for not doing well enough. I wanted the weight to melt away within weeks, and when it didn’t, I stopped eating and kicked up my exercise. It took me half a year to realize I was damaging myself, sure I was “getting skinny,” but I wasn’t getting healthy. And I hated myself.

I let the goals overtake me. Let them change me into someone I really wasn’t happy with. The scale owned me. I knew I needed to change and heal and come to terms with what it really means to strive to be healthy, not just “skinny.” And happily today, five years later, I understand fitness and my struggle better. I realize I need to strive to live healthily, not to be a certain shirt size. But still, it’s a battle.

So like I said, goals are good. They can offer motivation when you just want to quit or be done or want to put something off. Just don’t beat yourself up when you do blunder, or it’s taking longer than you thought, or you’re irritated and tired. Learning to lead a healthier life takes time and effort, and you need to make sure you’re doing it the right way and for the right reasons.

Love yourself, and exercise and eat right because of that. Because you’re worth it. I know I am and I hope you feel that way about yourself too. It took me a while to get to this point, but I haven’t given up.

-Kortnee

 

Leave a Reply

