Eat Your Fruits and Veggies!

A new study has shown that eating flavonoids (which are found in plants) help you lose fat. People who eat a diet rich in these flavonoids have been proven to maintain their weight as they grow older. Which is a good thing because if we maintain our weight (and even continue to build muscle as we get older) we will be in a better position to burn calories and fat.

So how do you eat foods that are rich in these things called flavonoids? Well it’s simply. Eat more fruits and vegetable! I know, easier said than done. I don’t really like vegetables either and fruit can be expensive. You want to know two simple things that I do to get more fruits and vegetables into my diet? The first is I either roast my veggies with oil, salt and garlic (which makes them actually take good!!) or I toss my veggies in with pasta. Chicken, broccoli Alfredo is one of my favorite dishes to make and I can even make it in my dorm room!

Fruit is a little easier. One word: Smoothies. You can literally add whatever you want. My favorite is frozen strawberries, blueberries, a banana, OJ, and yogurt. That’s it. Blend it up and you have a delicious smoothie that is full of good things for you. Again, it’s perfect for a dorm room too because all you need is a little blender and if you buy your fruit frozen it saves you tons of money.

What other tips do you have to add more flavonoids into your diet?

http://www.cnn.com/2016/01/27/health/flavonoids-foods-weight-loss/index.html

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

